Chiefs advance to Super Bowl LVIII: Patrick Mahomes, Andy Reid and Kansas City all make history after defeating Ravens – CBS Sports

Patrick Mahomes, Andy Reid and the Kansas City Chiefs stand side by side with the biggest names and teams in NFL history. Mahomes and his team made more history by winning Sunday's AFC title game against the Baltimore Ravens, and now they're just one win away from making even more history.

The Chiefs are now just the third team to appear in four Super Bowls over a five-year period. If Kansas City wins Super Bowl LVIII, they will join the 1970s Pittsburgh Steelers, the 1990s Dallas Cowboys and the 2000s/2010s Patriots in winning three Super Bowls in five years.

Teams that have played in four Super Bowls within five years

As for Mahomes, the two-time league and Super Bowl MVP is now expected to join the quarterback shortlist with four Super Bowl starts under his belt. Every other quarterback who has started in at least four Super Bowls is in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

If the Chiefs win Super Bowl LVIII, Mahomes will join Tom Brady, Joe Montana, Terry Bradshaw and Troy Aikman as the only starting quarterbacks with three Super Bowl rings.

Quarterbacks who start in at least 4 Super Bowls

  • Tom Brady (10)
  • John Elway (5)
  • Patrick Mahomes (4)
  • Peyton Manning (4)
  • Joe Montana (4)
  • Terry Bradshaw (4)
  • Roger Staubach (4)
  • Jim Kelly (4)

As far as Super Bowl coaches go, Mahomes' coach is now getting closer to Mount Rushmore. Reid is now tied for the third-most Super Bowl appearances by a head coach. If the Chiefs win Super Bowl LVIII, Reid will join Bill Belichick, Chuck Noll, Bill Walsh and Joe Gibbs as the only head coaches with three Super Bowl rings.

Most Super Bowl appearances by a head coach

  • Bill Belichick (9)
  • Don Shula (6)
  • Tom Landry (5)
  • Andy Reid (5)
  • Chuck Noll (4)
  • Bud Grant (4)
  • Joe Gibbs (4)
  • Marv Levy (4)
  • Dan Reaves (4)

In addition to Mahomes and Reid, the Chiefs will also make history as a franchise by winning Super Bowl LVIII. This would make Kansas City the ninth team to repeat as champions and the first since the Patriots in 2003-04 to do so. The Chiefs would also be the only franchises with at least four Vince Lombardi Trophies, along with the Steelers, Patriots, 49ers, Cowboys, Giants and Packers.