GLAAD Media Awards 2023 Full List of Winners Heartstopper

GLAAD Media Awards 2023: Full List of Winners – Heartstopper, Fire Island

The second wave of the 34th annual GLAAD Media Award winners were announced Saturday night in New York City. Netflix’s Heartstopper won in the Outstanding Kids & Family Programming – Live Action category.

Based on the webcomic by Alice Oseman, the LGBTQ+ love series, which follows the love stories of teenage best friends Nick Nelson and Charlie Spring and their peers, received rave reviews when it released in 2022. The second season premieres on Thursday, August 3.

Other notable winners included Fire Island and Anything Goes, which shared the Outstanding Film – Streaming/TV award; We’re Here, who won Outstanding Reality Series; and The Problem with Jon Stewart for an Outstanding Variety or Talk Show Episode. Maren Morris also received the Excellence in Media Award and Jonathan Van Ness the Vito Russo Award during the ceremony, which was hosted by actor Harvey Guillén (“What We Do in the Shadows”).


Below is the full list of winners for all 18 categories presented at the New York event, followed by the winners for 15 additional categories previously announced at the Los Angeles ceremony in March.

New York ceremony for the winners of the GLAAD Media Awards
Outstanding Film – Streaming/TV: Fire Island and Anything’s Possible (TIE)

Outstanding Reality Series: We’re Here

Outstanding Variety or Talk Show Episode: The Problem with Jon Stewart

Outstanding Online Journalism – Video or Multimedia: “Logo’s Trans Youth Town Hall”

Outstanding Children & Family Programs – Live Action: Heartstopper (Netflix)

Outstanding Children and Family Programs – Animation: Dead End: Paranormal Park (Netflix)

Outstanding Breakthrough Music Artist: Dove Cameron (Columbia Records)

Outstanding Broadway Production: A Strange Loop

Video Game Outstanding: Apex Legends (Respawn Entertainment/Electronic Arts)

Outstanding TV Journalism Segment: “HIV in the Deep South,” in Real Life (Scripps News)

Outstanding Television Journalism – Long Form: “PRIDE | To see”, Soul of a Nation (ABC)

Outstanding Live TV Journalism – Segment or Special: “The Last Before We Go: Stephanie Ruhle Talks Spirit Day”, The 11th Hour (MSNBC)

Excellent Print Article: “Pediatricians caring for trans youth face increasing harassment.” Life-saving care may be at stake” by Madeleine Carlisle (TIME)

Outstanding Online Journalism Article: “Alabama Attempts to Raise Legal Driving Age for Transgender People to 19” by Nico Lang (

Outstanding Blog: Mombian

Standout Podcast: “TransLash Podcast with Imara Jones” (TransLash Media) and “Sibling Rivalry” (Studio71) (TIE)

Outstanding Spanish-Language Online Journalism Article: “Proyectos de ley anti LGBTQ+ en Florida son una ‘licencia para discriminar’ y reviven el dolor de Pulse, dicen grupos locales” by Jennifer A. Marcial Ocasio (

Outstanding Spanish Language Journalism Online – Video or Multimedia: “Las abuelas trans buscan dignificar su vejez” by Liliana Rosas and Silvana Flores (

The winners were announced earlier at the ceremony in Los Angeles
Outstanding New TV Series: A League of Its Own (Prime Video)

Outstanding Comedy Series: What We Do in The Shadows (FX)

Outstanding Picture – Wide Release: Bros (Universal Pictures)

Outstanding Documentary Film: Framing Agnes (Kino Lorber)

Outstanding Film – Limited Release: The Inspection (A24)

Outstanding Reality Program Contest: Dancing with the Stars (Disney+)

Music Artist Outstanding: Fletcher, Girl of My Dreams (Capitol Records)

Outstanding Limited Series or Anthology Series: The White Lotus (HBO MAX)

Outstanding Comic Book: Poison Ivy, by G. Willow Wilson, Marcio Takara, Atagun Ilhan, Brian Level, Stefano Gaudiano, Jay Leisten, Arif Prianto, Ivan Plascencia, Hassan Otsmane-Elhaou (DC Comics)

Outstanding Original Graphic Novel/Anthology: Young Men in Love (A Wave Blue World)

Outstanding Children’s Program: “Adoptasaurus Rex” Dino Ranch (Disney Junior)

Outstanding Overall Magazine Coverage: The Advocate

Outstanding Directed Spanish Language TV Series: Los Espookys (HBO)

Outstanding Spanish Language TV Journalism: “Vico Ortiz” Primer Impacto (Univision)

Barbara Gittings Award for Outstanding Achievement in LGBTQ Media: Los Angeles Blade and Washington Blade

Special Recognition: Alejandra Caraballo

Special Recognition: Drag Story Hour

Special Recognition: Rothaniel (HBO)

Special recognition: #Letters4TransKids

Special Recognition: The Lesbian Bar Project

Special Recognition (Spanish language): “En Sus Palabras” (Univision)