Martin J Walsh appointed head of the AJLNH

Martin J. Walsh appointed head of the AJLNH

It had become an open secret, but the National Hockey League Players Association (AJLNH) officially named Martin J. Walsh as its new director on Thursday.

• Also read: Olli Maatta convinced the Red Wings

• Also read: Pierre Dorion gives himself two weeks to think

The AJLNH, represented by a selection committee of 10 players, announced their decision in a press release. Walsh, 55, was previously the United States Secretary of Labor. He also served as mayor of the city of Boston from 2014 to 2021.

“I am honored to have been elected director of the AJLNH,” said the American. By accepting this offer, I agree to do my best to defend players’ interests. My years of experience in the labor movement and in public life have taught me never to put my personal interests first.

“I look forward to working with the players and staff to make the NHLPA the best and most effective team possible.”

Buffalo Sabers forward Kyle Okposo, who sat on the selection committee, welcomed the hiring of a “recognized leader.”

“His energy and ability to understand the players stood out in the committee’s eyes. We looked for these specific qualities in our process of selecting a new director.”

Walsh, who will replace Donald Fehr, will take office in mid-March.

Alongside Okposo, Ian Cole (Tampa Bay Lightning), Mattias Ekholm (Nashville Predators), Justin Faulk (St. Louis Blues), Sam Gagner and Nate Schmidt (Winnipeg Jets), Zach Hyman (Edmonton Oilers), Kevin Shattenkirk (Anaheim Ducks) , Jacob Trouba (New York Rangers) and James van Riemsdyk (Philadelphia Flyers) made up the committee.