Prohiben en Francia manifestaciones frente al Consejo Constitucional

More than three million Panamanians called for parliamentary elections

In a press conference, the president of the TE, Judge Alfredo Juncá, also explained that of the voters, one million 511 thousand were 49 men (50.3 percent) and one million 493 thousand were 34 women (49.7).

Presenting the electoral roll for this consultation, Juncá added that of the total number of identified voters, two million 999,625 do so in person and about three thousand 788 are registered in the register of voters resident abroad; while 670 belong to the Early Voting Registry.

Both groups of voters, he specified, would only vote online for the office of President of the Republic.

For his part, Judge Osmán Valdés, director of the electoral organization, claimed that 45,411 people were excluded from the temporary register, including deaths, young people who had not processed their ID in advance, the express or tacit renunciation of nationality and the cancellation of civil rights. , among other things.

In this regard, he also clarified that citizens who complain will not be able to make the necessary corrections because time has passed.

The authorities also announced that the TE has made available the consultation website and app called “Verify” so that people can check their voting center and polling station.

A little more than three months before the consultation, the population could get to know the candidates and their election proposals, it said.

For his part, Judge Eduardo Valdés Escoffery explained that this is the seventh general election in Panama's new democratic era and the court will continue to defend the freedom, honesty and effectiveness of the electoral law.

On May 5, Panamanians will vote in elections to decide the country's new president and vice president, 20 members of the Central American Parliament and 71 members of the National Assembly.

The vote also elects 81 mayors, 701 municipal representatives and 11 city councilors, all with their respective deputies, for the period from July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2029.