Pan American Games Who would be to blame for Barranquilla

Pan American Games: Who would be to blame for Barranquilla losing the venue for the 2027 Games?

Barranquilla has stopped hosting the 2027 Pan American Games! After a series of mismanagement measures by the government Panama Sports recently announced that the 20th edition of this sporting event will not take place Colombia. This plunges the country into uncertainty and raises the question of who is responsible for this situation. For this reason, we invite you to join us in discovering those primarily responsible for this sad situation.

What happened to the 2027 Pan American Games?

Panam Sports, the organization responsible for the organization Pan American Gamesreported that its executive committee had decided to withdraw from the city Barranquilla, Colombiathe seat of the twentieth edition.

In an official statement, the company explained the reasons that led it to this decision: “On October 19, at a meeting in Santiago de Chile and after receiving an official letter from the Colombian authorities dated October 25, Barranquilla requested an extension of time to be able to honor the contract. The proposal was accepted by Panam Sports, with new dates: December 30, 2023 and January 30, 2024“, says the official statement

Panama Sports |  Pan American |  Pan American Games |  Barranquilla 2027

“However, Given the zero response once the new deadline has passed“The Executive Committee of Panam Sports took the unwavering decision on January 3, 2024 to withdraw the right to be the host city of the continental event in 2027,” he concluded.

Pan American Games 2027: Who would be to blame for the loss of the venue?

After the organizer's statement, the answer follows Ministry of Sportsone of those responsible for the situation, told public opinion and pointed out that the initial information was incorrect.

Pan American Games 2027 |  Ministry of Sports |  Barranquilla 2027

Full statement from the Colombian Ministry of Sports on the discontinuation of Barranquilla as a host city for the 2027 Pan American Games. Photo: Image taken by the Colombian government

This clarification states that in the conversation between Neven Ilic, President of Panam Sports, and Astrid Bibiana Rodríguez, Minister of Sports, an agreement was reached for the full payment of eight million dollars in January 2024. This refutes the first known information about the payout in two parts of $4 million, which was stated in the statement by the organizers of the Pan American Games.

On the other hand, Jaime Pumarejo, former mayor of BarranquillaHe is also responsible for the unfortunate incident, as he was the one who requested the extension despite being warned for non-compliance with the contractual clauses.

In addition, the current mayor of Barranquilla, Alejandro Charexplained that President Gustavo Petro had approved the payment of $4 million, corresponding to the first installment, before the end of 2023.

In his words: “$4 million was supposed to have been transferred to the state treasury on December 30, but this did not happena process that is of course strange, but that did not happen when I already had the President's order.”

What are the Pan American Games?

Come on Pan American Games It is a sporting event that brings together athletes from America in competitions in various disciplines, similar to the Olympic Games, but with a focus on our continent.

Which countries are participating in the Pan American Games?

Various countries in America take part in the Pan American Games. The list may vary, but generally includes countries in North America, Central America, South America and the Caribbean:

  • Old and bearded
  • Argentina
  • Aruba
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belice
  • Bermuda
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Cuba
  • Dominica
  • Ecuador
  • The saviour
  • USA
  • Granada
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Cayman Islands
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • British Virgin Islands
  • American Virgin Islands
  • Jamaica
  • Mexico
  • Nicaragua
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Puerto Rico
  • Dominican Republic
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Saint Lucia
  • Suriname
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela.